ME BEFORE YOU

If there’s anything I love to do it’s to sit back and chill with a good book. I love reading, I’m always engrossed in a book, lost in my own imagination, with these characters and stories. But sometimes I have my dips where I get out of reading and don’t read for a long time. It’s not a nice feeling. A few weeks ago, I wanted this to change. So, I got some new books and made it my mission to not go on a screen before I go to sleep and to just relax with a book instead. I’m sure there will be many blog posts about books but right now, the first of many, this is Me Before You by JoJo Moyes. May or not may feature spoilers, sorry if I do!

I’ve heard so much about this book. Whether that be with friends, online, people reading it on public transport, it’s a book that’s being talked about. Especially with the movie with the amazing Emilia Clarke and Sam Claflin as Lou and Will. With this book being talked about constantly, I thought it was about time that I’d give it a read.

I’m not usually a big reader of these big romantic novels, that’s not my cup of tea really, but somehow, I find that these ‘chic-lit’ books really help me get back into reading. But for me, this was a book far more than just a cheap romance and chic-lit. This is a story about two people, a family even, in a complicated and tragic situation.

I’ll be honest and say that at first, I found it quite difficult to get to grips of the characters and the story but after a few hours reading, I fell in love with it. I love that we follow Lou as she goes on this journey of her new job as Will’s carer but also when she falls further in love with him and everything in between. Lou Clark is a normal, down to earth, lovely lady that is easy to relate too. We want the best for her, we want to root for her. I think this is largely down to Moyes’ writing style; it’s very conversational, very relatable, and accessible. Her characters are so rich of life and just so believable. I loved the character of Will; I loved his positive attitude that he helped Lou see, I loved his sarcastic remarks and it was good that these two were completely different from each other, complete worlds apart from each other as we had a different perspective from each of them.

The book tackles a big theme of someone ending their own life and of course, over recent years, this has been a big conversation around the world with clinics like Dignitas in Switzerland, that of course, is a big event in the book. This is a very ‘controversial’ topic and there’s lot’s of different opinions that Moyes’ uses her characters to show the different sides of the argument.

What I loved most about the story as a whole, as well as the rich characters, was that it talked about not sitting still and living your life to the max. Will, before his accident, was a man that lived the high life: he had a good job, he went travelling, went all on these adventures and when he’s now in his chair and living and adjusting to his new life, he’s now telling Lou to live her life. But at the same time, she’s also showing him that he doesn’t have to go to the clinic and she can help him live a happy life. This was something that really connected with me while reading the book. How long are we going to sit still and live our life normally while we could be out there living our life to the max? Doing what we want to do. This is one of my favourite quotes from the book:

Live boldly. Push yourself. Don’t settle.

This book is your typical love story which can sometimes be a bit ‘meh’ and a bit tiresome in places, but I found it to be an enjoyable read. It’s a great story with a good message and relatable and believable characters. Now, I can’t wait to watch the movie and watch Emilia Clarke and Sam Claflin bring Lou and Will to life on the screen.

IMG_3431

Have you read it? What did you think of it? Also, do you have any good book recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments! Thank you!

See ya soon!

Leave a Reply

