STRANGER THINGS

Hi guys! For today’s post, I want to talk about mine and I’m sure everyone else’s new obsession too this summer, Stranger Things. Am I the only one who struggles to find something new to watch on Netflix after constant repeats of PLL and Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt? I spend hours, literally hours browsing through Netflix pondering on whether to watch next. But then Stranger Things landed and I was like: oh! This looks GOOD. 

I’ll be honest and say that I was a little wee late to starting this series but after constant Instagram’s and statuses of how bloody good this show is, it was about time I gave it a whirl for myself. And surprise surprise, I loved it. And surprise surprise, my new obsession.

I won’t try and describe it to you because I don’t know how too but trust me, it’s really rather good. What I can tell you is that it all kicks off when Will, a young kid, goes missing and then loads of questions arise. I’m sorry. It’s such a hard show to describe without telling you everything. My favourite thing about it all is the aesthetic, you guys know I’m all about the aesthetic, and with this, there’s no exception with it being set in the eighties. YAS!  The music is a big key part of the show too and with set in the eighties, of course, it’s really rather good. Type in ‘Stranger Things’ on Spotify and this gorgeous playlist of songs from/inspired by the show comes up. It’s amazing. My new favourite playlist.

The direction and filming style also really pleases me immensely. Like, ugh, SO GOOD. I love watching and examining the shots, fan-boying over them as I do. The series is helmed by The Duffer Brothers who are big sci-fi and horror directors so of course, Stranger Things was also going to be on point (which it obviously is).

The cast are also something to admire in this show, my two favourites being Winona Ryder who plays Joyce and Millie Bobby Brown who plays Eleven. These were the two performances that really stood out to me. Winona plays Joyce, the mother of Will as she tries to get her son back home and into her arms again. While she believes she is talking to Will and helping him, everyone, including her family, believes she is going crazy and they are just voices in her head. I was just speechless watching her as she continued her struggles to get her son back and didn’t give up without a fight. Go Joyce! Millie plays Eleven, who is my favourite character. What a performance from such a young actress. Seriously, so good. Eleven is a very complex character and Millie plays her with such vulnerability and innocence but with extreme amounts of strength and power. She was iconic from her fist scene and this is only the start of what looks like a promising career for Millie. I’ve also got to give a round of applause to the rest of the cast, especially the comedic genius of Gaten Matarazzo who plays the adorable Dustin. He was just hilarious and I am so jealous of his outfits. Like seriously, how rude of him. He really warmed my heart with his adorable smile and amazing curls. Ugh. SO CUTE. I loved the whole friendship group of Mike, Will, Dustin and Lucas with the involvement of Eleven.

This is the perfect binge-watch series which I devoured in just a few sittings. I instantly fell in love with the show, even my boyfriend got annoyed at me going on about it, but excuse me, WHY HAVEN’T YOU WATCHED IT YET? Rude. Seriously, if you’re a fan of horror, the 80’s, good fashion, good music, great cast, good directing, this show is the show for you. Just don’t watch it with the lights on. Or in Joyce’s case, turn all the lights on and create your house to Santa’s grotto (literally so beautiful – so jealous).

Hopefully there will be a second series with more stranger things with Dustin’s adorable goofy smile and his amazing curls.

See ya soon!

Leave a Reply

