ON THE OTHER SIDE

Hi guys! Before I start today’s post, I just want to say sorry for the lack of and late posts these few days! I’ve been unwell and feeling sorry for myself in bed, but now I’m getting back to myself and time to do some blog posts!

Today’s post is another book post, YAY! This time it’s ‘On The Other Side’ by Carrie Hope Fletcher. If you’ve read my post on Chitty Chitty Bang Bang you would know how much of a fan I am of Carrie. I’ve followed her YouTube channel for a good few years now. I love her. She’s so sweet, honest and an amazing performer. I’ve read her first book, her non-fiction book, All I Know Now which I loved and when she uploaded a YouTube video saying she was bringing out a fiction book I got SO excited.

// May contain spoilers, read on at your own risk! //

I was eager to grab my hands on a copy but then all of a sudden, my boyfriend, Ryan, surprised me with the book! Boyfriend points for him. Congrats, Ryan! Anyway, I was desperate to read it and devour it. From the first page, I fell in love with the story. Carrie’s writing is very descriptive and very poetic and lyrical, I guess this comes in handy with her being a songwriter too. It’s like a movie in your mind especially with the magical realism, everything is so clear and vivid and that shines through Carrie’s writing.

I loved the characters and my favourite character was Vincent. Just like Evie, the first time we’re introduced to Vincent, I fell in love with him just like Evie. I had the image of him busking in a tube station, his little violin and Evie watching in wonder. Throughout the book, I feel that Vincent is the one I most connect too. You can see that he’s a good guy but extremely flawed too. This is something that I admire with Carrie’s characters: they are real people who have their flaws just as much as anyone else in the world. Especially Evie and Vincent. They make mistakes, they fuck up, but they’re human. We all make mistakes and fuck up. But back to Vincent, he’s the type of man I want to be. I want to wear a stylish coat and play a violin with charming eyes. When we meet the elderly Vincent, I felt that whole passage when Evie meets him so raw and exposed. Vincent was this vulnerable shell of a man who I just wanted to cuddle and eat orange sweets. This is where I really fell in love with Vincent, especially this quote which I am totally in love with:

you were my single greatest adventure

I love that quote so much and when I read it for the first time, I felt extremely tearful as the moment was so right between Evie and Vincent. I haven’t had that feeling from reading a book in a long time. Damn you Carrie! I also really loved the character of Eddie. Adorable Eddie. A scene that also made me quite emotional was when he came out to Evie. While I’m going through the same sort of stage; coming out in my sexuality and being confident in that, I felt so connected with this scene and the character of Eddie. I believed everything he said. It’s made me feel so much more confident in who I am and my sexuality, so thank you Carrie for that too. It was such a beautiful honest and sweet scene between Eddie and Evie and I love the relationship Eddie has with his boyfriend. #goals.

There’s a lot of LGBTQ+ representation in the book with bisexual characters, pansexual and gay characters. Although I am glad there’s a lot more representation in the book than other books I’ve read previously, I feel at times it was a bit of in-your-face, you know? That this character is PANSEXUAL! I felt that the most with Isla and the whole scene when she described what it was to Evie, felt like I was having a lecture. But like I said, I’m happy that there’s more representation and Carrie’s doing that with her writing. Their sexuality isn’t their whole story, it’s just an extension of who they are. Like Vincent is bisexual but that’s not the whole story of him as a character in the novel.

I’ve loved this book. I love the characters. I love the world that these characters inhabit. There were some logical flaws I believe with the timing of the story which confused me sometimes and a few typo errors but overall, this was a book that I enjoyed to sit down and escape with for a few hours before bed. It was charming. It was sweet. It was beautiful.

This is a movie in the waiting. It’s so vivid and creative and I’m sure it will be a big blockbuster or actually, I’d love it for it to be on BBC One at Christmas, I think it will be a great family drama that we can just snuggle up with on cold winter evenings. But I’d want to play Vincent. Please and thank you.

Like I said, this is a book full of charm, wit, magic and warmth. Go Carrie! I can’t wait to read your next book!

See ya soon!

 

Leave a Reply

