REFLECTING

I’ve talked about my anxiety a lot on this blog, always being open and honest as much as I can. Sometimes, anxiety gets better, I have more of a hold on it, it’s manageable. But sometimes, it’s not so good. It’s back and hits you harder than before.

Lately, my anxiety has been good. I haven’t had any panic attacks and haven’t been feeling anxious – yay! But then, it just takes one thing for it to strike again and the panic attacks to ensue. That’s why, it’s important to stop and reflect for a bit.

This is something that I’ve noticed a lot recently when I feel anxious and having panic attacks. Go outside. Walk. Reflect. I’m not the sort of person who thinks reflection and relaxing is good for you. That’s not been something that I see myself as. But now? I’m all for a bit of relaxation and meditation.

For me, my favourite thing to do is to go for a walk; while living in Swansea, there’s this gorgeous marina that I love to walk around take photo’s. It’s relaxing and really eases my mind. My partner Ryan took me last year, I’ve never seen it before, but it quickly became one of my favourite spots in Swansea. There’s nothing better to walk around, lost in your thoughts, calming yourself, watching the birds fly and the sun set.

My favourite time to reflect and relax is when the sun is setting. It’s the end of a new day and the start of the next. It’s gorgeous too. I remember, last month, I felt trapped and overwhelmed so I went for a walk in the park and luckily, it was just about the time when the sun was about to set. I stood there, in awe. It sounds cheesy and cliche, but I’ve never had a feeling like that in my life. I felt refreshed, reenergised.

Now, I look forward to that time of day; when the sun is about to set. It’s my chance to say goodbye to whatever happened that day, and hello to the next. It keeps me going. Plus, the photo’s are really good for your Instagram, right? #nofilter.

If at all you feel trapped, isolated and overwhelmed by your anxiety, go for a walk, reflect for a bit, do what makes you calm and happy. Watch the sun set, calm your mind. It does the world of good.

Corey x

 

Leave a Reply

