BRUNCH @ WATERSTONES

For today’s post, I want to talk about a lovely little spot where I love to chill, drink tea and eat delicious sandwiches: waterstones cafe, W. I love Waterstones; I always have since a young child. There’s no better feeling than feeling lost among the books among books. I could literally (have) spend hours in there just browsing without even buying anything. Waterstones has a dear spot in my heart. With no Waterstones being in my local area, I remember going to Cardiff and just rushing to go into Waterstones. It’s literally one of my favourite places.

The Waterstones in Swansea is GORGEOUS. The building, the stairs, the ceilings are just divine. I mean, look at them! Such a pretty place. Me and Ryan decided to go for a walk around town and feeling quite peckish, we thought why not try the cafe upstairs? And with one bacon sandwich, a bottle of orange juice, a pot of tea and a latte, it’s a ritual that we do mostly every day. There really is no better feeling to just chill with someone you love in such a beautiful building.

14729366_1135097533232867_4116824415594913421_n

It’s a very large space but also a small space at the same time. Most of the time it’s busy with people sat there reading with a cuppa, meeting friends for a catchup or even having a business meeting. It’s just that sort of place where anything can happen (within reason, of course). For us, and me especially, it’s an escape. It’s an escape from the noise for a while and to just relax and unwind after a stressful day.

Sometimes I sit there and read, sometimes I sit there and write on a project that I’m working on or me and Ryan just sit there talking to each other about our day’s. See what I mean? Thrilling experience. When doing my exams, there was nothing better to take my Shakespeare revision there and just relax. It calmed me down and made me focused on what I needed to get on with.

14907123_1154749521267668_2664248351581660047_n

I think that’s why I enjoy it so much. It’s quiet and relaxing unlike the typical cafe’s and coffeeshops like Starbucks and Costa (which we still go to and love) but it’s intimate, it’s close, it helps us relax and it’s just a calming atmosphere. It’s still part of Waterstones, the shop it’s self, but it has a charm of its own. To me, it seems most people don’t go there to buy a book but to just to walk up the stairs and sit down with a cuppa. The cafe is the beating heart of the place.

One of my favourite things about the cafe is that there are two sofas either side at the back of the room where you can relax and unwind. There’s even blankets for you to snuggle up in and de-stress. It’s the little touches that count, right?

I love Waterstones and the cafe and I will always go back as I know it well help me relax and de-stress and it’s a good place to find inspiration to just sit back and write. If you’re in Swansea, go and check out the cafe as I’m sure you will love it and find it a great way to relax – and the tea is fab too!

Plus it makes your Instagram look incredible – my Instagram is full of snaps from there!

See you soon,

Corey x

Leave a Reply

