FOUR BOOKS TO PICK UP THIS SUMMER

It’s that time of the year where we can sit back and relax with a good book in the sun; whether that be on holiday, in the garden with cocktail after cocktail, sat on a tartan blanket in the local park having a lavish picnic or even sweating as fuck on the tube, we all love a good book. In today’s blog post, I’m going to talk about four books that I think will be perfect for summer!

1: WILDE LIKE ME // LOUISE PENTLAND

img_8890.jpg

Lately I’ve been reading American Gods which is a big hefty book that takes a lot of concentration and it’s the type of book that you can’t just read a few pages and that’s that  (more on American Gods soon!), so I knew I wanted to read something else that will just let me sit down and read with a smile on my face so I picked up Wilde Like Me.

IMG_8940

I think it’s safe to say that I don’t fit into the target market for this book, but as they say, fuck it. I love reading books that feel real and to just enjoy it. I’ve been a fan of Louise now for a good few years and was really intrigued when she announced this book. Wilde Like Me follows single-mum Robin Wilde and her crazy antics in life with her loving family and her crazy-ass friends. At times, the story felt a bit flat to me but there are moments throughout that makes you burst out in fits of laughter (my favourite was the incident with the rape alarm) and  the characters were consistent throughout and I had their voices in my head every time they spoke – especially Auntie Kath (whom is my favourite character – spin-off series, PLEASE?).

It’s an easy read and I can’t wait to see what Robin Wilde gets up to next time! I think this is a perfect book to pick up, sit back, get some sun and have a smile on your face throughout. You could easily read this in one long sun-bathing session…

2: TALKING AS FAST AS I CAN // LAUREN GRAHAM

IMG_8959

I’ve had this book for Christmas but I constantly go to it, flick through and love reading chapters randomly. I’ve recently got addicted to Gilmore Girls on Netflix and I fell in love with this hilarious lady – Lauren Graham who plays Lorelai Gilmore. This book is funny, frank and honest – it’s such a joy to read and you can really hear Lauren’s voice shine through. It’s especially a treat for those who are fans of Gilmore Girls (come on, let’s face it, who isn’t?).

I love reading books that give you the insight behind TV shows and what goes on and Lauren does that with Gilmore Girls by season by season to the revival of the show on Netflix. So, if you’re a fan of Gilmore Girls or want a book that will make you laugh and smile by a seriously funny lady, this book is for you.

3: THE GIRLS // EMMA CLINE

IMG_8954

I read this a few months ago and oh, my GOD, it was SO GOOD. This book was something that I constantly kept seeing and hearing about. Have you read The Girls? It’s amazing! You should read this book! It’s called The Girls and oh MY GOD!, etc. There were bookshops with displays full of this book, it was (and still is) in your face, you just couldn’t ignore it, and I didn’t.

There hasn’t been a book recently that I found that I read as fast as I read this one. It follows the character of Evie Boyd in present day but then we’re introduced to teenager Evie in 1969 when she makes some friends with very dark consequences. It explores themes of friendship, growing up and making your own identity as a person, and so much more. The language is so lyrical and beautiful; it really pulls you into the story and care for these characters.

Don’t forget to pack this one in your suitcase before you head off on your summer holiday’s – join the conversation and devour this beauty of a book. I want to read it again and again.

4: HOLDING // GRAHAM NORTON

IMG_8903

I’ve been a fan of Graham Norton for YEARS and was so excited to finally get my hands on a copy of his first novel, Holding. It’s a beautiful story of the village of Duneen as they cope with the news of a body being discovered which makes the past of the characters come to light. Graham’s writing style feels so effortless with buckets and buckets of charm with gorgeous descriptive writing.

The characters alive and vivid in this book; my favourite being Brid; she’s not perfect, she’s a real character with flaws and in a sense, a bit of an underdog too. She was the character that I was invested in and was eager to follow her journey. Graham really creates complex characters which are shown with his female characters; Mrs Meaney being one of my favourites too – a bit like Mrs Hudson in Sherlock with a dark secret!

This book is beautiful, gripping and emotional. I’ve already made Ryan read it and he’s loving it too! Another little novel that you can get your teeth into whilst in the sun.

That was just a little selection of books that I think will be perfect reads for this summer! Like I said: whether it’s on holiday, in the park, in the garden, on the tube, on a road trip, wherever, these books are perfect and a pleasure to read!

What are you reading this summer? Any good recommendations? Let me know in the comments!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to try and finish American Gods… *concentration face ON*

See you soon,

Corey x

Leave a Reply

